Restaurant Type
Cuisine Type

American Cuisine


La Halal Bites began with quest of offering 100% zabiha halal food. Based on the Zabiha factor, the menu shall be ever evolving due to the supply chain issues of procuring the right product.


Halal is an Arabic word that simply means lawful or permitted, but generally refers to what’s allowed under Islamic law.

Non-muslims are sometimes familiar only with the term halal in regards to its role in animal slaughter. That’s largely because meat can be either halal or haram depending on how the animal was slaughtered. For that reason, halal meat is usually labelled as such in most non-muslim countries, whereas other products don’t need to be. Fruits and vegetables, for example, are always halal, so non-muslims are rarely confronted with the fact.

For the most part, vegan food is always halal. The one exception is when it contains alcohol. Alcohol and all intoxicants are considered haram.


For meat to be certified halal, it must be slaughtered in a manner known as zabiha. That means cutting through the jugular vein, carotid artery, and windpipe in order to drain all blood from the carcass. In Islam, the consumption of blood is considered haram. A Muslim must recite a dedication known as tasmiya or shahada during this process.

Carrion – an animal that dies of illness or natural causes – is also considered haram. An animal must be alive, healthy, and conscious at the time of slaughter for its meat to be considered halal.

Not all meat can be made halal, however, regardless of how it was slaughtered. Animals that are always haram to eat include:

• Pork and its by-products are strictly forbidden
• Donkeys, mules, and horses
• Fanged animals (cats, dogs, bears, etc)
• Birds of prey
• Reptiles
• Some other animals, such as monkeys

  • No comments yet.
  • Add a review